Sales Support for Vertical Markets - Sales Unit

Initial Situation

A leading manufacturer of measurement technology devices expanded its portfolio some time ago to add the functional monitoring of pipeline networks. In this regard, the solution is based upon the manufacturer’s thermal imaging camera which can be used to quickly and reliably localise and diagnose malfunctions that arise. By so doing, for the first time, industries such as the utility, food/beverage and chemical industries become interesting in a larger scope for the manufacturer.

Solution

The Sales Unit forms a team for the sales support in order to more precisely qualify the industries and to select the most interesting contacts as well as to actively promote a wide array of marketing channels from the sales side. In addition to the classical active acquisition in order to supply the Field Staff with appointment leads, conversely follow-up work is also done for incoming leads from online channels, potential partner companies are contacted and preparatory work is done for trade fairs.

Qualified leads created from these activities are broken down into two categories: Contacts with immediate potential, requirements and level of interest are forwarded to the Field Staff as appointment leads and personally visited by the manufacturer. Contacts with potential, but still an unclear need continue to be supported by the Sales Unit and are invited, for example, to the manufacturer’s webinars which are held later.

The comprehensive sales support activities provide the manufacturer’s Sales Division with valuable new customer opportunities and alleviate its workload so that it can concentrate on its core work activities. Upon the basis of the project team’s experiences, the next theme–power grid quality is also integrated into the support.

Sales Support Vertikalmärkte - Sales Unit

Ausgangssituation

Ein führender Hersteller messtechnischer Geräte hat sein Portfolio vor einiger Zeit auf die Funktionsüberwachung von Leitungsnetzen erweitert. Die Lösung basiert hierbei auf den Wärmebildkameras des Herstellers, mit welchen entstandene Fehlfunktionen schnell und zuverlässig lokalisiert und diagnostiziert werden können. Damit werden erstmals Branchen wie Utility, Food/Beverage und Chemical in größerem Umfang für den Hersteller interessant.

Lösung

Die Sales Unit stellt ein Team für den Sales Support, um die Branchen genauer zu qualifizieren und die interessantesten Kontakte zu selektieren sowie aktiv unterschiedlichste Marketingkanäle vertriebsseitig voranzubringen. Neben der klassischen aktiven Akquise zur Versorgung des Außendienstes mit Terminleads werden umgekehrt auch eingehende Leads aus Online-Kanälen nachgefasst, potenzielle Partnerunternehmen angesprochen und Messen vorbereitet.

Aus diesen Aktivitäten entstehende qualifizierte Leads werden in zwei Kategorien gegliedert: Kontakte mit sofortigem Potenzial, Bedarf und Interesse werden dem Außendienst als Terminleads übergeben und seitens des Herstellers persönlich besucht. Kontakte mit Potenzial, aber noch unklarem Bedarf verbleiben in der Betreuung der Sales Unit und werden beispielsweise zu später stattfindenden Webinaren des Herstellers eingeladen.

Der umfassende Sales Support verschafft dem Vertrieb des Herstellers wertvolle Neukunden-Opportunities und hält ihm zugleich den Rücken für seine Kernarbeit frei. Auf Basis der Erfahrungen des Projektteams wird auch das nächste Thema – Power Grid Quality in die Betreuung mit aufgenommen.