Prescriber Dialogue regarding Biological Therapy in Dermatology - Sales Unit

Initial Situation

One of the world’s largest pharma companies offers a highly-effective biological preparation for treating psoriasis and psoriasis arthritica. The company uses this preparation to compete with providers of traditional psoriasis medications. Its own Field Staff employees are available only for the purpose of supporting the identified high-potential practices.

Solution

The Sales Unit develops an annual concept for the dialogue and for the continued supporting of the targeted dermatological practices. In three waves allocated throughout the entire year, the physicians are personally contacted by telephone and advised regarding the biological preparation, its advantages and its delimitation from traditional therapies. In addition, the physician’s affinity towards the usage of biological preparations is generally determined in order to advise those physicians, who would like to use no biological preparations in the psoriasis therapy, regarding a referral of their patients to a specialist.

The goal of the dialogue is to comprehensively inform the physician and convey to him a trustful basis for his prescription through this technical support regarding the preparation.  Interested physicians receive extensive written information as well as offers for continuing education on the theme.

During the additional project waves, the prescriber dialogue is commenced anew. In so doing, the technical discussion and the experiences of the physicians when issuing prescriptions are deepened and thus developed based upon the trustful relationship that has been created. In addition, the target group is expanded by selected general practitioners who regularly refer psoriasis patients to medical specialists. In this case, particularly the networking to the dermatologists already working with biological preparations is intensified and thus the referral rate to the most innovative practices is increased.

In this manner, the pharma company receives comprehensive market coverage for its preparation and can successfully and sustainably increase its sales at a fraction of the budget incurred for full Field Staff support.

Verordnerdialog Biologikum in Dermatologie - Sales Unit

Ausgangssituation

Eines der weltweit größten Pharmaunternehmen bietet ein hochwirksames Biologikum zur Behandlung von Psoriasis und Psoriasis arthritica an. Mit diesem Präparat steht das Unternehmen im Wettbewerb mit Anbietern traditioneller Psoriasismedikationen. Die eigenen Außendienstkräfte stehen nur zur Betreuung der identifizierten Hochpotenzialpraxen zur Verfügung.

Lösung

Sales Unit entwickelt ein Jahreskonzept zum Dialog und zur weiteren Betreuung der dermatologischen Zielpraxen. In drei über das gesamte Jahr verteilten Wellen werden die Ärzte telefonisch persönlich kontaktiert und hinsichtlich des Biologikums, dessen Vorzügen und seiner Abgrenzung zu traditionellen Therapien beraten. Zusätzlich wird die Affinität des Arztes zum Einsatz von Biologika allgemein ermittelt um diejenigen Ärzte, welche in der Psoriasistherapie keine Biologika einsetzen möchten, bezüglich einer Überweisung ihrer Patienten zu einem Spezialisten zu beraten.

Ziel des Dialogs ist es, den Arzt umfassend zu informieren und ihm mit dieser fachlichen Betreuung hinsichtlich des Präparates eine vertrauensvolle Basis für seine Verordnung zu vermitteln. Interessierte Ärzte erhalten weiterführende schriftliche Informationen sowie Angebote für Fortbildungen zu dem Thema.

In den weiteren Projektwellen wird der Verordnerdialog erneut aufgenommen. Hierbei werden das Fachgespräch sowie die Erfahrungen der Ärzte bei der Verordnung vertieft und damit auf dem entstandenen Vertrauensverhältnis aufgebaut. Zusätzlich wird die Zielgruppe um ausgewählte Hausärzte erweitert, welche regelmäßig Psoriasispatienten zu Fachärzten überweisen. Hier wird insbesondere das Networking zu den bereits mit Biologika behandelnden Dermatologen gestärkt und so die Zuweiserrate zu den innovativsten Praxen erhöht.

Das Pharmaunternehmen erhält auf diese Weise eine umfassende Marktabdeckung für sein Präparat und kann seine Umsätze mit einem Bruchteil des bei einer vollen Außendienstbetreuung anfallenden Budgets erfolgreich und nachhaltig steigern.